Baseball Hall of Fame 2019: SN's Ryan Fagan explains his ballot

Baseball Voting for the Hall of Fame is an honor and a privilege. Filling out my ballot, and writing the companion column explaining my thought process, is one of my favorite parts of the year. It’s a bit stressful and exhausting — so many factors to consider — but I love it. The Hall of Fame voting/ballot process is far from perfect, though, and in my third year with an official ballot, I again did my best to work within the constraints of the 10-player maximum. Maybe one day we’ll just be allowed to decide which players are Hall of Famers and which players aren’t worthy of the Hall, without ranking and maneuvering them against other players who happened to retire in the same time frame (sigh). But that’s a topic for another time.  And instead of a long lead-in this year, we’ll just get right to my ballot. I voted for these 10 players (in no specific order): Mariano Rivera, Edgar Martinez, Barry Bonds, Mike Mussina, Roger Clemens, Manny Ramirez, Larry Walker, Curt Schilling, Roy Halladay and Scott Rolen. MORE: Roberto Clemente mural keeps memories strong in Pittsburgh And now, my thoughts on this year’s ballot. If you're curious, here's my 2018 ballot explanation and my 2017 ballot column. You'll see similar thoughts on players who are ballot hold-overs.Three quick thank-you notes: First, to FanGraphs' Jay Jaffe for creating his JAWS system, which provides statistical context for this Hall of Fame discussion, a[......]